Digital Development of Architecture Poster Design (Perspective)

For this poster I decided to go with a two point perspective grid that was influenced by the rule of thirds. The main subject matter for this is going to be the Elizabeth Tower (Big Ben) and the London Festival of Architecture Logo being projected from it. I began with a rule of thirds grid I found online, established the two vanishing points and began constructing a cube. Once I was happy with the placement of this cube I began to experiment with the particular placement of the vanishing points and the angles of said cube:

appd_sc_1

Further vanishing point experimentation, trying out different placement:

appd_sc_2

Here I used rulers and guides to math the placement of the vertices of the cube. I made use of triangles to math the angles of the cube to help mirror it so as to lessen the distorting effects of the perspective. I also tried out a different placement of the vanishing points:

appd_sc_4

More experimentation with the placement of the vanishing points as well as exploring the rest of the tower and how the angles and placement of the details later on will work:

appd_sc_5

Further exploration, trying to find the most visually pleasing placement of the vanishing points and angles with the aid of guides/rulers:

appd_sc_6

 

I settled on the green version of the vanishing points and began to construct the rest of the tower. I used an X on the two faces of the cube that we can see to find the centre points, this will help with the placement of the ellipses/circles later on:

 

appd_sc_8

Placing the circles/ellipses in perspective proved to  be difficult. I experimented with various tools, such as the shear tool, distort tool and free transform etc. I did some searching through the tools and options in illustrator and found the perspective tool. After some research I began to set it up and put the ellipses/circles in perspective onto the cube (Explanation of this process and the tool further along).:

appd_sc_9

After I set up the ellipses I moved onto the logo projection and the mapping of the details for the rest of the tower. For the logo I created lines emanating from the centre of one of the ellipses and cube faces. I then put the logo into perspective using the perspective tool, of which is rather tricky to use and manipulate shapes with. I had to convert the logo (which was an image) to a vector using Control Panel -> Image Trace -> High Fidelity Photo, this allowed me to manipulate the logo as if it were a complicated vector shape:

appd_sc_10

Here I removed/hid a lot of the clutter and began to create the clean lines for the tower, paying attention to line weight to help create more depth. I made the lines closer to the viewer thicker, as well as important borders. I made the lines further away, as well as the finer details, smaller to push them further back into space:

appd_sc_11

Here is where I began to organise where the details will go on the rest of the tower with the help of the perspective grid:

appd_sc_12

Fitting the text onto the tower was quite difficult to do when it was in a text format, even if I typed the text onto the line itself. Doing it that way did not help fit it into the same perspective as the rest of the image. I instead had to use Type -> Create Outlines to convert the text into vector shapes. This allowed me to use the perspective tool to conform it into the right perspective. This required a large amount of re-corrections and accuracy and was quite time consuming. I also typed London Festival of Architecture onto the projection lines for the logo, however this seemed quite unprofessional and lacklustre so I later on I decided to go with the text on the top right with the smaller logo on the bottom right to help balance out the left hand side heavy composition. I have also increased the line weight of the ellipses, giving them more visual weight and importance:

 

appd_sc_13

appd_sc_14

Here I cleaned up the lines a bit more and added detail to the tower with the help of rulers/guides:

appd_sc_15

The placement of the text on the top right and smaller logo on the bottom as I mentioned earlier is shown here, as well as experimentation with the font. I also added more detail to the tower, which I may or may not keep as it creates an area of concentrated detail, detracting from the rest of the image:

appd_sc_16

appd_sc_17

Here I edited the text using Window -> Type -> Character. I also changed the colour to match the logo. I decided to make the text stand out more using, as I mentioned, the colour of the logo as well as making parts of the text bold. I also increased the size of the text and faded out the projection lines, allowing it to stand out more:

appd_sc_18

 

Perspective Grid Tool:

Shift + P brings up the perspective grid tool, this allows you to conform vectors into perspective. There are multiple handles on the grid that you can use to manipulate and move the grid itself with. In the menus there are options for 1, 2 and 3 point perspective, allowing a wide range of complicated scenes to be created:

perspective-process-images

To be able to put the vector in perspective, we need to attach it to the active plane. The active plane is indicated by the highlighted face on the cube at the top left of the document:

perspective-process-images-5

Once attached to the active plane you can then use the Perspective Selection Tool (Shift + V) to put the vector into perspective, manipulating it using the handles on the bounding box:

perspective-process-images-6

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

