Reference and Inspiration

Mood and Detail Boards to help with ideation and development:

(images found online and compiled in Photoshop)

app_detail_boardapp_mood_board_1

These images helped to inform the subject matter and mood/atmosphere of my poster designs.

Poster Inspiration:

(images found online)

These posters helped to inform the design direction that I wanted to take for this assignment.

Font Inspiration:

(images found online)

I was moving towards a more Art Deco tall and elegant styled font, these were some fonts that helped inspire my font exploration.

Colour Reference:

I used Adobe Kuler to help establish colour palettes to inform and inspire my colour exploration and experimentation.

screen-shot-2016-12-12-at-10-12-34screen-shot-2016-12-12-at-10-12-54screen-shot-2016-12-12-at-10-13-06screen-shot-2016-12-12-at-10-13-11screen-shot-2016-12-12-at-10-13-38screen-shot-2016-12-12-at-10-13-47screen-shot-2016-12-12-at-10-13-59

Explanation:

I used the combination of images of the real life architecture in London in conjunction with the design direction of the reference posters that pushed forward a graphical layout to create an engaging clarity. This direction of simplifying the real life architecture using simple shapes and interesting layouts appealed to me, so I decided to explore this further in my own sketches within my sketchbook for this project.

Later on, I decided to experiment with a different direction, this one being more perspective heavy and more traditionally inspired by architecture. I used the reference of the buildings I gathered and compiled earlier to choose my subject matter, settling on using the Elizabeth Tower I moved onto the creation of the poster after gathering some more specific reference.

Leave a Reply

